Two year old play – Monday 12th March 2012


There is a special magic about getting to know someone better. Yesterday, my Melbourne friend and I had a chance to catch up on years since we last met, establishing a new level of friendship, beyond that of the workplace. Today, I am priviledged to get to know his wife and two year old son better.
We spend the day in Williamstown, which has a lovely feel to it. Good cafes, great children’s play parks, restaurants, marina, green space, botanic gardens.
I delight in watching his son: partly because he is not much older than my own grandson and partly because two year olds are fascinating and this one is a lovely boy, with lovely parents may I say!
Gradually this little one accepts me and sneeks peeks in in my direction. Most often though he is fully involved with his own play.

20120320-141734.jpg
During our walk in the botanic gardens, I have watched him feed the fish in the pond stones, scooped up from the path. It’s an honest imaginary game. But as we leave, I find myself walking beside him and he slips me a handful of gravel.
“feed fish,” he explains. Brilliant! He has let me in and now holds my hand for a short while before, of course running happily back to his parents.
I love little children. They’re cool!

20120320-142128.jpg

Leave a Reply

